27 Jan 2022

Late Louth goals knock Longford juniors out

Late Louth goals knock Longford juniors out

Killian Farrell pictured in action for the Longford juniors against Louth in the Leinster Championship quarter-final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park. Photo: Declan Gilmore

A goal from midfielder Daniel O’Connell in stoppage time proved to be the decisive match winning score as Louth snatched victory away from Longford in the Leinster Junior Football Championship quarter-final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Wednesday evening.

Leinster Junior Football Championship Quarter-Final

Louth . . . 2-11   Longford . . . 0-15

Louth scored their first goal in the 57th minute through Mark Hoey but Longford responded well to that setback and a pointed free from the excellent Rian Brady (who scored 0-7 in total) along with a score from Killian Farrell edged the home county ahead by one point in the 60th minute.

But Frank McNamee’s side (backboned by the bulk of this year’s U-21 squad along with senior regular Padraig McCormack) could not hang on to that slender lead in the quest for a semi-final spot against Wicklow.  

Louth launched an immediate counter-attack and the ball was played into the forward line as O’Connell capitalised on a mistake to blast a powerful shot to the back of the net to shatter Longford in what has been a miserable few days for the county teams with the seniors and minors also crashing out of the Leinster Championship.  

LONGFORD: Colm Farrell (Longford Slashers); Liam Hughes (Killoe Emmet Og, 0-1), Conor Farrell (Cashel), Fergal Battrim (Abbeylara); Cian Brady (Abbeylara), Padraig McCormack (KIlloe Emmet Og, 0-1), Russell Brady (Abbeylara); Aidan McElligott (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s), Shane Kenny (Rathcline, 0-2, one free); Joe Kelly (Ballymahon, 0-2), Nigel Rabbitte (Abbeylara), Ruairi Harkin (Colmcille); Rian Brady (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s, 0-7, two frees), Killian Farrell (Ardagh/Moydow, 0-1), Daryl Carrigy (Ardagh/Moydow, 0-1).

Subs:- Paddy Kiernan (Killoe Emmet Og) for R Harkin (24 mins); Peter Lynn (Young Grattans) for N Rabbitte (43 mins): Enda Dalton (St Judes, Dublin ) for D Carrigy (58 mins).

LOUTH: Robert Samson; Barry Reynolds, Niall McCabe, Kieran Lenihan; Niall Sharkey (0-2), David Quigley, Michael McDonald; Robert Brodigan (0-1), Daniel O’Connell (1-0); Colm Giggins (0-3), Kevin Hearty, Ciaran Sheridan; Cian Callan, Conal O’Hanlon (0-3), William Woods (0-2, frees).  

 Subs:- Peter Nixon for C Giggins (33 mins); Barry O’Hare for C Callan (44 mins); Mark Hoey (1-0) for K Lenihan (49 mins); Aaron O’Brien for K Hearty (50 mins); Conor Earley for C Sheridan (55 mins).

Referee: Alan Coyne (Westmeath).


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.