29 Jan 2022

Another heavy defeat against Armagh as the Longford hurlers crash out of the Nicky Rackard Cup

Another heavy defeat against Armagh as the Longford hurlers crash out of the Nicky Rackard Cup

Longford senior hurling manager Ray Gavin.

The Longford senior hurlers found the going far too tough against Armagh in the Nicky Rackard Cup quarter-final at the Crossmaglen grounds on Saturday.

Nicky Rackard Cup Hurling Championship Quarter-Final

Armagh . . . 4-20     Longford . . . 0-12

For the second week in succession Ray Gavin’s side suffered a heavy defeat against Ulster opposition in what was a disappointing end to the season.

Minus the services of influential forward Cathal Mullane, with Johnny Casey another notable absentee, this was always going to be a real uphill battle for Longford and so it proved.

Wind assisted Armagh led by 1-3 to 0-2 after ten minutes and it was all over as a contest at half-time, at which stage the home county had built up a very commanding 2-12 to 0-3 lead.

Longford were always fighting a losing battle but they kept plugging away in the second half despite conceding another couple of goals.

The midlanders succeeded in scoring nine points on the changeover, with Paddy Walsh the chief marksman, and he ended up with a total of 0-7 (frees) to his credit.

The Longford hurlers achieved their target of winning the National League Division 3B title along with gaining promotion this year and the Nicky Rackard Cup (with no relegation in the 2017 campaign) was always going to be a bonus no matter what happened.

ARMAGH: Simon Doherty; Ciaran Clifford, Artie McGuinness, David Bridges; John Corvan, Paul Gaffney, Conor Devlin; Fiachra Bradley (1-1), Nathan Curry (0-2); Cathal Carvill (0-2), David Carvill (2-6, 5f), Dylan McKenna (0-1); Conor Corvan (1-6, 4f), Ryan Gaffney, Danny Magee (0-1).

Subs:- Eoin McGuinness for C Carvill (49 mins); Odhran Curry for C Devlin (49 mins); Caolan Rice (0-1) for A McGuinness (52 mins); Caily Gorman for D Carvill (58 mins); Peter McKearney for N Curry (62 mins).

LONGFORD:  Conor Gallagher; Cian McLoughlin, Karl Murray, Thomas Egan; Gerard Moore, Daire Duggan, John Mulhern; Paul Barden, Paddy Walsh (0-7, 6f, 1 sideline cut); Shane O’Brien (0-2), Seamus Hannon (0-1), Conor Keegan; Paddy Farrington, Reuben Murray (0-2), Eugene Kiernan.

Subs:- Ray O’Brien for E Kiernan (half-time); Aidan Sheridan for C Keegan (51 mins); Eoghan Kavanagh for P Farrington (51 mins); Alan Sorohan for S O’Brien (58 mins); Jamie Rosney for S Hannon (64 mins).

Referee: James Connors (Donegal).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.