19 Aug 2022

Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School beaten in the North Leinster U-16 'C' Football Final

Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School beaten in the North Leinster U-16 'C' Football Final

Luke Gunning on the ball for Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School in the North Leinster U-16 'C' Football Final against O'Carolan College, Nobber (Meath). Pic: Declan Gilmore

There was disappointment for Mercy Secondary School, Ballymahon U-16 footballers who lost out to Meath opponents O’Carolan College, Nobber in the North Leinster Junior ‘C’ Final played on the astroturf pitch at the St Loman’s GFC grounds, Mullingar on Tuesday.

North Leinster Post-Primary Schools Junior (U-16) ‘C’ Football Championship Final

O’Carolan College, Nobber (Meath) . . . . . . . . . .  4-10

Mercy Secondary School, Ballymahon  . . . . . . . . 2-11

There was never much between the sides but when O’Carolan College got their fourth goal in the 41st minute they were able to kick on and seal the success.  Goals were the difference between the two sides in the finish and Ballymahon SS will be disappointed with the manner in which they conceded those crucial scores.  

O’CAROLAN COLLEGE, NOBBER:  Niall McMahon; Michael Doherty, Jamie O’Hare, Michael Clare; Ciaran O’Reilly, Killian Markey, Jamie Fagan; Niall Bennett (1-0), Brian Summersby; Pauric Dillon (0-1), Killian Price (0-3), Thomas Carolan; Ben Blakemore (1-2), Brian McCormack (2-4, 1f), Aaron Tolan.

Sub:- Laochra O’Fionnagain for J Fagan (58 mins).

MERCY BALLYMAHON SECONDARY SCHOOL: Byrn Peters; David Doherty, Adam Ryan, Seadhna Ryan; Matthew Gunning, Cian Belton, Ronan Keane; Sean Donohoe, Cronan Flood; Jack Murtagh, Luke Gunning (2-1, 1f), Jamie Bermingham; Dylan Farrell (0-4, 2f), Aidan O’Ceallaigh, Oran Kenny (0-5, 3f).

Subs:- Cian Gilmore (0-1) for D Doherty (24 mins); Rory Howlin for A O’Ceallaigh (half-time); D Doherty for S Ryan (47 mins).

Referee: Mick Gordon (Westmeath).

Full report in next  week's Longford Leader, on sale on Wednesday March 8

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.