Killoe win the U-21 ‘A’ title for the fourth time in six years

Padraic O'Brien


Padraic O'Brien


Killoe win the U-21 ‘A’ title for the fourth time in six years

Paddy Kiernan surging forward for Killoe Emmet Og in breaking away from Clonguish opponent Francis Molloy. Action from the U-21 'A' Football Championship Final at Allen Park. Photo: Declan Gilmore

Lethal full-forward Ciaran Donohoe clocked up the impressive total of 2-7 as Killoe proved much too strong for Clonguish in the U-21 ‘A’ Football Championship Final at Allen Park on Saturday evening.


The Rustic Inn, Abbeyshrule Under 21 ‘A’ Football Championship Final

Killoe Emmet Og . . . . 4-14     Clonguish . . . . 0-10

Goals from Shane Mahon and Donohoe in the closing minutes of the first half proved to be decisive as Emmet Og held a commanding 2-6 to 0-4 lead at the break in cruising to their fourth U-21 county title triumph in the space of six years.

Further goals from Jamie King and Ciaran Donohoe in the second half completed the rout with dominant midfielder Paddy Kiernan (the winner of the man of the match award) producing a great performance for the superior Killoe side managed by Declan Rowley.

KILLOE EMMET OG: Shane Fitzpatrick; Philip Kiernan, Liam Hughes (0-1), Conor Moran; John Lynch, Ryan Moffett, Niall Farrelly; Brian Harte, Paddy Kiernan (0-2); Larry Moran (0-2), Shane Mahon (1-0), Shane Thompson; Jamie King (1-2), Ciaran Donohoe (2-7, three points from frees), Aaron Clyne.

Subs:- Fergal O’Donnell for P Kiernan (38 mins); Eamon Keogh for J King (47 mins); Michael Hughes for S Fitzpatrick (48 mins); Shane Tully for S Thompson (48 mins); David McCarthy for A Clyne (51 mins); James Bracken for J Lynch (54 mins).

CLONGUISH: Declan McKenna; Brian Gordon, Kevin O’Boyle, Darragh McLoughlin; Francis Molloy, Ronan Sweeney, Neil Devlin; Peter Hanley, Ronan Duffy; Colin Farrell (0-2, one free), Colin Clarke (0-1), Brian Sweeney; Christopher Gordon, Alan Sorohan (0-1), Alan Gregg (0-6, five frees).

Subs:- Packie Molloy for P Hanley (injured, 44 mins); Patrick Hernandez for C Clarke (48 mins); Eimhin Glacken for A Sorohan (48 mins).

Referee: Michael Farrell (Ballymahon).