Peter Foy scores 3-2 as Slashers remain unbeaten

Robbie Smyth on the attack for Abbeylara in breaking away from Longford Slashers defender Peter Brady. Action from the All County Football League Division 1 game at Michael Fay Park on Friday evening last. Photo: Declan Gilmore
Three goals from Peter Foy paved the way for Longford Slashers comprehensive win over Abbeylara in the Division 1 league clash at Fay Park on Friday evening last.

Three goals from Peter Foy paved the way for Longford Slashers comprehensive win over Abbeylara in the Division 1 league clash at Fay Park on Friday evening last.

Foy scored three excellent goals as well as hitting over two fine points as the county champions remain unbeaten in the league this season. In the opening minutes of the game it was very much Foy versus Abbeylara on the scoreboard. The forward was impressive throughout with Martin Nevin alongside him playing his part in the win; linking up well with Foy on a number of occasions and also getting good scores.

Abbeylaracouldn’t compete with Slashers who were on top in most areas of the field. They were very much reliant on Robbie Smyth but he was well marshalled by the Slashers defence.

Barely two minutes had elapsed on the clock when Peter Foy scored his first goal; Martin Nevin played a lovely pass into him and the full-forward made no mistake with a good finish. Minutes later Foy scored a point after receiving the ball from Nevin.

In the 9th minute Foy grabbed his second goal and then one minute later he scored a fantastic point to put Slashers ahead by eight points.

Abbeylara’s first point of the game came from a Robbie Smyth free but Slashers replied with a fine Nevin point. Smyth’s ball in was fisted over the bar by Jason Kelly in the 21st minute as Abbeylara registered their second point.

Slashers though were dangerous on the attack and Martin Nevin restored their eight point advantage in the 22nd minute. He added another minutes after and then in the 27th minute Andrew Dalton put 10 between the sides. Just before the break Abbeylara got their third point when goalkeeper Damien O’Connor kicked over a ’45 to leave his side trailing by 2-6 to 0-3 at the break.

Colin Smith got Slashers first point of the second half with a minute gone before Abbeylara lost William Crawford when he received a black card and he was replaced by Sean Berry. The visitors first point on the changeover came in the 34th minute when full-back Colm P Smyth hit over a fine score.

Slashers then lost Niall Mulligan when he received a black card in the 36th minute and his replacement Martin Tarmey did well when he came on. In the 38th minute Peter Foy got his third goal when he fired a powerful shot past opposing keeper O’Connor from a tight angle.

Tarmey then hit over a nice point and Michael Brady was on target in the 42nd minute to stretch the Slashers advantage to 14 points. Abbeylara responded with a Robbie Smyth pointed free and a good score from half-back Shane Mahon.

Andrew Dalton got another point in the 50th minute as Slashers continued to dominate. Abbeylara just could not find a way past a resolute Slashers defence for a badly needed goal and Jason Kelly hit over a free in the 55th minute for their final score before Martin Tarmey fired over Slashers last point. Right at the end Fergal Battrim got into a good position for a consolation goal chance for Abbeylara but he hit his effort wide.

LONGFORD SLASHERS: Colm Farrell; Shane O’Connell, Barry Gilleran, Gareth Ghee; Peter Brady, Dermot Brady, Sean Flynn; Michael Brady (0-1), David Sheridan; Andrew Dalton (0-2), Niall Mulligan, Trevor Clendenning; Martin Nevin (0-3), Peter Foy (3-2), Colin Smith (0-1, free).

Subs:- Martin Tarmey (0-2) for N Mulligan (black card, 36 mins); Brian Walsh for M Nevin (54 mins); Shane Rogers for S O’Connell (56 mins).

ABBEYLARA: Damien O’Connor (0-1,’45); Anthony McBrien, Colm P Smyth (0-1), Arthur O’Connor; Michael McHugh, Shane Mahon (0-1), Colm Dalton; Fergal Battrim, Jason Kelly (0-2, 1 free); Cormac Smyth, James McEntire, Eamonn Gallagher; Robbie Smyth (0-2, 2 frees), Derek Smyth, Brian Smyth.

Subs:- William Crawford for D Smyth (24 mins); Sean Berry for W Crawford (black card, 33 mins).

Referee: John Hughes (Killoe Emmet Og).