Brendan Gilmore elected new Longford GAA Chairman

Rathcline clubman Brendan Gilmore was elected the new Chairman of the County Board at the annual GAA Convention in Aras Ui Bhriain, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Friday night.

Gilmore overcame the challenge of the outgoing Vice-Chairman Pat Donnelly (Fr. Manning Gaels) in a contest for the top position, winning the vote 54-36.

Beating Eugene Murtagh (Sean Connolly’s) in a very tight contest by the slender margin of just one vote, 45-44, outgoing Chairman Pat Cahill (Carrickedmond) is the new Central Council Delegate.

John Bannon (Legan Sarsfields) and John Duffy (Dromard) were elected in the contest for the two Leinster Council Delegate positions ahead of Eugene Quaine (Carrickedmond).

Ciaran Kelly (Ardagh St. Patrick’s) lost out to Tommy McLoughlin Jnr. (Mostrim) in the contest for the position of Coaching Officer.


CHAIRMAN – Brendan Gilmore 54 Pat Donnelly 36

CENTRAL COUNCIL DELEGATE – Pat Cahill 45 Eugene Murtagh 44

LEINSTER COUNCIL DELEGATES (2) – John Bannon 83 John Duffy 62 Eugene Quaine 35

John Bannon and John Duffy elected on the first count

COACHING OFFICER – Tommy McLoughlin Jnr. 56 Ciaran Kelly 34

The controversial motion that was proposed by the County Board to divide Templemichael Parish was defeated at the Convention by 48 votes to 38 following a secret ballot.

Read the full report of the GAA Convention in the next edition of the Longford Leader, on sale on Wednesday