Cashel hold off late comeback to advance to Celebrity Bainisteoir semi-final

Cashel 1-13

Cashel 1-13

Ballinora (Cork) 1-9

Cashel booked their place in the semi-final of RTE’s Celebrity Bainisteoir with a deserved win over Cork side Ballinora.

The Longford side controlled the majority of the game but when Ballinora pulled a goal back four minutes from time it made for a nervy few minutes, with Cashel keeper Ger Neilon pulling off a fine save to deny substitute Daire O’Neill.

Ballinora’s Ben Ahern who opened the scoring in the second minute pointing over a free before Cashel took a hold on the game. Gary Kenny got them off the mark in the third minute pointing over a free. Aidan Rowan scored a great point in the six minute to put them ahead and then they scored five unanswered frees - Kenny (three frees), Rowan with a well taken ’45 and Derek Farrell all on the mark.

Ballinora came back into game in the final ten minutes of the half and points from Pat Fitton, Ahern (free) and Conor Brosnan left three in it at the break.

Cashel were dominant in the second half. Ger Denningan and Farrell added on two more points. A free from Kenny was sandwiched in between points from Ballinora’s Michael Murphy and Brosnan.

A goal from Kieran Mulvihill in the 42nd minute and a nice point from Rowan stretched Cashel’s lead to eight in the 43rd minute. Two frees from Ahern and Brosnan kept their side in it as the final ten minutes approached.

Mulvihill got Cashel’s final score in the 55th minute before the Cork side really made a game of it with a goal and a point.

The momentum was now with the visitors, but try as they might they couldn’t tag on any more scores and Cashel held out for a memorable win.

Cashel: Ger Neilon; Ronan Farrell, Conan Casey, Ronan Muldoon; Peter Foy, Padraig Farrell, Kevin Farrell (0-1); Ger Dennigan (0-1), James Rowan; Gary Kenny (0-5,5f), Aidan Rowan (0-3,’45), Niall Donlon; Kieran Mulvihill (1-1), Shane Merrigan, Derek Farrell (0-2).

Subs used: Paul Egan for P Farrell (41 mins), Thomas Delaney for D Farrell (53 mins), Niall Casserley for Donlon (60 mins).