Ballymahon master Fr. Manning Gaels

Thomas Mulvihill on the attack for Ballymahon as Cian Brady of Fr. Manning Gaels closes in during the Senior Football Championship Relegation Play Off on Sunday last at Pearse Park. PHOTO: RAY DONLON
Ballymahon . . . . . . . . . 0-15

Ballymahon . . . . . . . . . 0-15

Fr Manning Gaels . . . . 1-7

Deniese O’Flaherty reporting from Glennon Brothers Pearse Park

A battling display from Ballymahon in the final 10 minutes of the game saw them claim a vital win over Fr. Manning Gaels in the first of the Senior Football Championship relegation play-off games at Pearse Park on Sunday evening last.

After going behind by three points to a David Cassidy goal just after the interval Ballymahon worked hard to draw the game level in the 48th minute. They went in front three minutes later and eventually ran out five point winners.

Ballymahon started well and were two in front inside the opening 10 minutes. Padraig Gill replied with a nice point for the Gaels before Ballymahon restored their two point advantage. That was to be their last score of the first half.

In the final five minutes before the break the Gaels fired over three unanswered points to give them a slender one point lead, 0-4 to 0-3, at the break. One minute into the second half Ballymahon were level but the Gaels responded in terrific fashion and in the 33rd minute Padraig Gill was the provider for David Cassidy to grab a goal.

Points were then traded between Mark Connor and Gill before Ballymahon fired over two points to cut the gap to one. Diarmuid Cooney edged the Gaels in front by two in the 42nd minute but then Ballymahon got on top to register several scores to emerge victorious.

BALLYMAHON: Thomas Lennon; Graham Forbes, Ken Lovell, Emmet Finn; John Reid (0-2), Matthew Daly, Bernard Mulvihill; Cian Cooney, Mark Lennon; Mark Connor (0-3), James Farrell, Eddie Noonan (0-1); Kevin Diffley, Colm Flynn (0-7, 4 frees), Thomas Mulvihill.

Subs:- John Nevin for E Noonan (half-time); Kyle Fitzmaurice (0-2) for T Mulvihll (40 mins); Alan Hudson for M Lennon (55 mins); Edwin Nally for J Nevin (59 mins).

FR. MANNING GAELS: Aiden Gray; Brian Collum, Cian Brady, John Paul Farrelly; Ciaran Cooney, Fergal Reilly, Michael Kiernan; Johnny Kane, Dylan Quinn (0-1); Darren Farrelly, Padraig Gill (0-3), Martin Cassidy; David Cassidy (1-0), James Noonan (0-2, 1 free), Diarmuid Cooney (0-1).

Subs:- Darren Reilly for M Kiernan (53 mins); Sean Whelan for M Cassidy (53 mins); Paddy Collum for J Noonan (59 mins).

Referee: Ger Carberry (Killoe Emmet Og).