Longford score most emphatic win over Limerick

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifier – Round 1

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifier – Round 1

Longford . . . . . 2-14 Limerick . . . . . 0-9

Padraic O’Brien reporting from Glennon Brothers Pearse Park

The Longford supporters who comprised the vast majority of the 2,000 attendance had plenty to shout about as the home county showed the far greater urgency to demolish a poor Limerick outfit by the wide margin of 11 points in Round 1 of the All-Ireland Qualifiers at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday evening.

The full-forward-line of Sean McCormack, JJ Matthews and Francis McGee inflicted the bulk of the damage by scoring 2-10 between with the deadly accurate McCormack firing over a total of eight points (five frees).

Leading by 0-8 to 0-4 at the break with five of the points (three frees) coming from McCormack while Matthews (2) and John Keegan also got their names on the scoresheet, Longford made a wonderful start to the second half.

Quick points from McCormack and Paul Barden was followed by a Francis McGee goal in the 38th minute and Limerick were dead and buried when they pressed the self destruct button in the 47th minute.

A misdirected free out of defence by Seanie Buckley went straight to JJ Matthews and the Mullinalaghta man raced through unchallenged to fire home the second goal for Longford that put the issue well and truly beyond all doubt.

The other Longford scores in the second half came from Sean McCormack (two frees) along with a fine brace of points (play) from substitute Niall Mulligan.

LONGFORD: Damien Sheridan (Dromard); Dermot Brady (Longford Slashers), Barry Gilleran (Longford Slashers), Declan Reilly (Colmcille); Barry O’Farrell (Carrickedmond), Padraig McCormack (Killoe), Shane Mulligan (Mullinalaghta); John Keegan (Mullinalaghta, 0-1), Michael Brady (Longford Slashers); Bernard McElvaney (Ballymore), Paul Barden (Clonguish, 0-1), Peter Foy (Longford Slashers); Francis McGee (Dromard, 1-0), Sean McCormack (Killoe, 0-8, five frees), JJ Matthews (Mullinalaghta, 1-2).

Subs:- Niall Mulligan (Longford Slashers, 0-2) for P Foy (49 mins); Colm P Smyth (Abbeylara) for P Barden (61 mins); Kevin Diffley (Ballymahon) for J Keegan (64 mins); Aidan Rowan (Cashel) for F McGee (66 mins); Shane Doyle (Kenagh) for B McElvaney (66 mins).

LIMERICK: Brian Scanlon; Andrew Lane, Johnny McCarthy, Mark O’Riordan; Stephen Lavin, Paudie Browne, Pa Ranahan; Bobby O’Brien, John Galvin; John Riordan, Thomas Lee, Ian Corbett (0-1); Ger Collins (0-1), Seanie Buckley (0-3, one free), Eoghan O’Connor (0-3, one free).

Subs:- Derry O’Connor (0-1, free) for T Lee (half-time); Stephen Lucey for B O’Brien (42 mins); Michael Reidy for I Corbett (45 mins); Seamus O’Carroll for G Collins (49 mins); Cian Coady for A Lane (66 mins).

Referee: David Gough (Meath).