07 Oct 2022

Longford SFC: Jack Macken outstanding as Colmcille come storming back to beat Mostrim

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final

longford gaa

Jack Macken (who scored 8 points) pictured in action for Colmcille against Mostrim in the SFC quarter-final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday evening Photo: Syl Healy

Looking in big trouble after conceding three goals in the first half to trail by six points (3-2 to 0-5), Colmcille showed a lot of character in storming back to beat Mostrim in the Senior Football Championship quarter-final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday evening last. 

Colmcille . . . 0-15    Mostrim . . . 3-5 

It was a gutsy team effort from the Colmcille men to reach the last four and particularly outstanding in this great escape was their talented 20-year-old midfielder Jack Macken who fired over a total of 8 points (5 frees).

Just like the semi-final showdown between the clubs last season, Mostrim got off to a great start with goals from Darragh Doherty and Tiarnan Hussey in the early stages of this exciting encounter in the sunshine. 

And when Seamus Hannon finished off a well-worked move to score a third goal for Edgeworthstown in the 22nd minute, Colmcille were facing a real uphill battle. 

But three points in a row from Macken (two cracking strikes from play) brought Mickey Harkin’s side right back into contention before the break as the gap was gradually closed. (Half-time score: 3-2 to 0-8). 

While Mostrim were second best for most of the second half, the sides were all square entering stoppage time and extra-time was looming before Jack Macken converted a brilliantly struck pressure free to clinch a fine victory for Colmcille. 

COLMCILLE: Noel Farrell; Declan Reilly, Enda Macken, Gerard Mulligan; Martin Mulligan, Ruairi Harkin, Ciaran McKeon; Jack Macken (0-8, 5 frees), Fergal Sheridan; Cathal McCabe, Eoghan Hawkins (0-1), Cathal Reilly; Eoghan Williams (0-1, mark), Barry McKeon (0-4, 2  frees), Philip McKeon.

Subs:- Rory Hawkins (0-1) for M Mulligan (28 mins); Shay McKeon for E Williams (43 mins); Padraig Murtagh for B McKeon (injured, 46 mins); Paul Farley for C McKeon (5 minutes into stoppage time). 

MOSTRIM: Ciaran Garvey; James Connell, Martin Coyle, Aaron Gallagher; Shane Campbell, Shane Kiernan, Niall Quinn; Daniel Connell, Brian Farrell; Ronan Courtney, Padraig Joyce (0-1), Alan O’Hara; Tiarnan Hussey (1-1), Seamus Hannon (1-0), Darragh Doherty (1-2).

Subs:- Adam Kelly for A O’Hara (injured, 50 mins); Fintan Coyle (0-1) for S Hannon (53 mins); Shane Sheridan for A Gallagher (2 minutes into stoppage time). 

Referee: Donal Kane (Young Grattans).     

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.