29 Jun 2022

Ballymahon Municipal District: Cahill on course to take third seat

Out for the count: Day three of Longford's local election count gets underway

Counting is still going on in the Ballymahon LEA tonight

Ballymahon Cllr Mick Cahill is edging closer to successfully retaining his seat after the third count in the south Longford area was revealed tonight.

He now stands at 826 votes after picking up 18 votes after the latest count, leaving him 123 votes off the required 949 quota.


Cahill, Mick (FF) +18 826

Duffy, Bridget (FF) +2 556

Farrell, Gerard (FG) +5 657

Kenny, John (FF) +4 431

McMonagle, Charlie (Ind) +20 206

Moran, Tony (Ind) +19 350

Murray, Colm (FG) +8 713

O'Toole, Pat (FF) +38 727

Ryan, Geraldine (SF) +7 211

*Mark Casey's 46 surplus votes are now being distributed.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.