29 Sept 2022

PHOTO GALLERY: 66 year wait is over - bon fires blaze as Mullinalaghta return home with the Connolly Cup after historic first Longford triumph since 1950

Mullinalaghta supporters were out in force tonight to welcome home the new county champions. 

Captained by Shane Mulligan and inspired by man of the match, John Keegan, Mullinalaghta St Columnba's captured their first Longford SFC title since 1950 with 1-8 to 0-8 win over Abbeylara in Glennon Brothers Pearse Park.

Mickey Graham's Mullinalaghta now have a Leinster club championship clash against Stradbally of Laois to look forward to on Sunday, October 30, also in Pearse Park. 

David McGivney landed 0-5 of Mullinalaghta's 1-8 total, with Aidan McElligott's goal right at the start of the second half proving the decisive score.




To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.