Labour have yet to unveil their election team in Longford as Higgins begins European election bid

Aughnacliffe native Loraine Mulligan is Labour Party Chairperson.

Aughnacliffe native Loraine Mulligan is Labour Party Chairperson.

With Senator Lorraine Higgins poised to be rubber-stamped as the Labour Party’s European Parliament election candidate for the Midlands / North-West constituency tomorrow, they have yet to unveil their candidates that will contest the three local electoral areas in Longford on May 23 next.

Labour party sources, including Aughnacliffe native Loraine Mulligan who is Labour Party Chairperson, previously outlined that it was their intention to run at least one candidate in each of three electoral areas (Ballymahon, Granard & Longford).

However, with polling day just twelve weeks away, the Labour press office confirmed to the ‘Longford Leader’ that they have “nothing to announce at this stage regarding candidates in Longford Electoral Areas.”

There is no Labour representative on Longford County Council but Ms Mulligan told the ‘Leader’ after the Labour Party annual conference last December in Killarney,

“My own experience of growing up and living in Longford is that there are very strong Labour values in place even though people may not vote in that way. Things like strength in community and social solidarity.

“There is a Labour vote there and we would be eager to talk to people who would be interested in representing Labour values in Longford.”

The Labour Party selection convention for the European Parliament Midlands/ North-West Constituency takes place tomorrow (Sunday, February 23) at 2pm in the Mullinagar Park Hotel and Party Leader Eamon Gilmore, and Deputy Leader Joan Burton will be in attendance, along with Labour TDs and Senators from the constituency.

Galway East based Senator Lorraine Higgins is the only candidate to go forward to the Convention. She is Labour’s Seanad Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Trade.

There will be a six-person contested election for nomination to the Substitutes’ Panel involving James Doorley (Meath East), Ciara Galvin (Kildare North), Gerard Gibbons (Meath West), Rachel Grimes (Westmeath), Cllr Denis Leonard (Westmeath) and Cllr Niall McNelis (Galway West).

The new Midlands/ North-West Constituency covers the following fifteen counties: Galway, Roscommon, Sligo, Mayo, Leitrim, Westmeath, Louth, Meath, Longford, Offaly, Laois, Kildare, Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan.


Back to the top of the page