By-election update: First count results

By-election update.

By-election update.

  • by Aisling Kiernan

Following the results of the first count in the Longford/Westmeath by-election in Kenagh at 7pm this evening, Donal Jackson (Ind) and John McNamara have been eliminated from the political race.

Athlone’s Gab McFadden is leading the race with 12,365 votes, while Fianna Fáil’s Aengus O’Rourke has 8,910 and Sinn Féin’s Paul Hogan is in third place with 7,548 votes.

Longford’s James Morgan has 5,959 or 12.16% while Kevin ‘the Boxer’ Moran is following close behind with 11.49% or 5,629 votes. Brian Fagan has 4,195 votes (8.6%) and Denis Leonard (Lab) has received 3,290 votes.

The quota is 24,502 and there were 1,492 spoiled.




Back to the top of the page